Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2019-2020

TUESDAY, MARCH 17, 2020 at 8:00 PM - POSTPONED

Takács Quartet

Coolidge Auditorium

Please Note: Once a date has been confirmed, the Library of Congress will alert all those who registered for the original event date via their email addresses. 
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and look forward to seeing you, your family and friends very soon.

Get free tickets from Eventbrite
(tickets available 12/11/2019, beginning at 10 AM)

Edward Dusinberre and Harumi Rhodes, violins
Geraldine Walther, viola  |  András Fejér, cello

Now in its 45th year, the eminent Takács Quartet holds an undisputed place at the very peak of the profession. Their appearance in our Beethoven festival highlights one of our treasures, a sketch from the composer’s op. 131 quartet in C-sharp minor. "Performing Op. 131 is always an adventure," first violinist Edward Dusinberre has written. "Over the course of seven movements, played without a break, Beethoven covers a range of emotions, shifting from one to the other with a minimum of preparation." For Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel, Beethoven’s music was “exceedingly moving and emotional.” Like her brother Felix, she was an astute student of his compositions. “We were young during Beethoven's last years," she writes in a letter to Felix, “and absorbed his style to a considerable degree.” Nonetheless her string quartet—one of the earliest written by a woman—contains a uniquely individual fantasia-like Romanza, very much a gesture of her own.


Quartet in C major, op. 33/3, HIII:39


String Quartet in E-flat major


String Quartet in C-sharp minor, op. 131

PRE-CONCERT LECTURE: “Beethoven for a Later Age,” Edward Dusinberre, violinist and author
6:30 pm – Whittall Pavilion