Concerts from the Library of Congress


Don't Miss - On this page: Concert, Conversations, Downloadable Program and Other Resources.

Download Program (PDF, 401KB)
A Fiddler's Tale program PDF

Tai Murray

Tai Murray
Photo credit: Editar

Wynton Marsalis
Photo credit: Clay McBride

Wynton Marsalis
Photo credit: Clay McBride

Nick Few

Nick Few


Romance for violin and piano


L’Histoire du soldat (Suite)


A Fiddler’s Tale

Anthony McGill, clarinet  |  Ian Morin, bassoon
Billy Hunter, trumpet/cornet |  Weston Sprott, trombone
Jauvon Gilliam, percussion
Tai Murray, violin  |  Xavier Foley, contrabass
Nic Few, narrator
Damien Sneed, piano and conductor

Igor Stravinsky's iconic work L’Histoire du soldat is based on the eternal story of a young man who sells his soul to the devil, achieving fame and fortune, but losing everything when the devil calls in the debt. Wynton Marsalis' A Fiddler's Tale retains the outline of Stravinsky's scenario, but updates the action to the present for a parable involving the devil, corruption and the concept of shame. This program brings together a wonderful lineup of leading musicians including members of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, and National Symphony Orchestra.

The Morgan Library and Museum

Presented in cooperation
with the Morgan Library and Museum.


Other ways to watch ...

Explore Related Collections and Resources

Damien Sneed

Damien Sneed

Conversations with the Artists

All Fall events for the 2021-2022 season of Concerts from the Library of Congress will be presented virtually.
Be sure to check this page for additional content, including conversations with the artists, program notes, links to Library resources and more!