{ site_name:'The John W. Kluge Center', subscribe_url:'/share/sites/Bapu4ruC/kluge.php' }

Through discussion and reflection, the Council assists in implementing an American tradition linking the activities of thinkers and doers, those who are engaged in the world of ideas with those engaged in the world of affairs.

2016 Scholars Council

The Scholars Council

Current Members

Lisa AndersonLisa Anderson

Scholar of international affairs; former president of the American University in Cairo.

Marie AranaMarie Arana

Writer-at-large for the The Washington Post; Former editor-in-chief of Book World.

Marie AranaChristine L. Borgman

Information Studies professor; Director, Center for Knowledge Infrastructures, UCLA.

Manuel CastellsManuel Castells

Leading sociologist and 2012 Holberg Memorial International Prize winner.

Toyin Falola

Toyin Falola
University of Texas Austin professor; prolific author of books on African history.

W. Roger Louis

W. Roger Louis
Kerr Chair of English History and Culture at the University of Texas; author/editor 30 books.

Margaret MacMillan

Margaret MacMillan
Professor of History at Oxford and Toronto Universities; Warden of St. Antony’s College.

Mark Noll

Mark A. Noll
Specialist in the History of Christianity in the U.S.; Professor at Univ. of Notre Dame.

John Witte, Jr.

John Witte, Jr.
Law professor at Emory University; specialist in legal history, marriage, and religious liberty.

Gordon S. Wood

Gordon S. Wood
Professor emeritus at Brown University; recipient of the 1993 Pulitzer Prize for History.

Pauline Yu

Pauline Yu
President of the American Council of Learned Societies; noted author.

About the Council

A body of distinguished scholars, convened by the Librarian of Congress to advise on matters related to scholarship at the Library, with special attention to the Kluge Center and the Kluge Prize.

Members of the Scholars Council are appointed by the Librarian of Congress under a separate Charter appended to the Kluge Center’s Charter.

Read the Charter

Past Members

Back to top