Law Library Stacks

Back to Index of Legal Reports

Full Report (PDF, 2.68MB)

This report explains the points-based immigration systems adopted by Australia, Austria, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, and the United Kingdom. Each of these countries determines a noncitizen’s eligibility to obtain a particular visa or residence status partly by whether that noncitizen is able to score above a threshold number of points in accordance with the country’s points scoring system. All of the countries have points-based immigration system for skilled workers. Other categories for which a points-based immigration system is used include investor, entrepreneur/business start-up, persons with exceptional capabilities, temporary worker, and job seeker. A comparative summary is included.

Jurisdictions prepared:

An earlier report from March 2013 includes PDF, Australia, Canada, and the United Kingdom.

Back to Top

Last Updated: 12/30/2020