Library of Congress

Law Library of Congress

The Library of Congress > Law Library > News & Events > Global Legal Monitor

Belgium; Luxembourg; Netherlands: New Treaty

(July 2, 2008) Belgium, The Netherlands, and Luxembourg signed a new Benelux Treaty on June 17, 2008, in The Hague. The new treaty revises the present treaty, signed in 1958, which will come to an end on October 31, 2010. Article 2 of the new treaty provides its main objectives: to protect the Benelux countries' pioneering role in the European Union and extend cross-border cooperation in the areas of the internal market and economic union, sustainable development, and justice and home affairs. (Nouveau Traité Benelux – 17/06/2008, Benelux Secretariat-General Web site, June 17, 2008, available at