Film, Video New World Symphony: Program I

About this Item

New World Symphony: Program I

Founded in 1987 by the legendary conductor Michael Tilson Thomas, the New World Symphony, known as "America's Orchestral Academy," prepares graduates of music programs for leadership roles in professional orchestras and ensembles. These talented young musicians present a dynamic program of works by Carlos Simon, Charles Wuorinen, and Béla Bartók.

[02:45] Carlos Simon: "be still and know" for piano, violin and cello
[11:30] Charles Wuorinen: Trio for Horn, Violin and Piano
[26:12] Béla Bartók: Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion, Sz. 110, BB 115

Event Date
March 12, 2021
Running Time
53 minutes 42 seconds
Online Format

Rights & Access

While the Library of Congress created most of the videos in this collection, they include copyrighted materials that the Library has permission from rightsholders to present.  Rights assessment is your responsibility.  The written permission of the copyright owners in materials not in the public domain is required for distribution, reproduction, or other use of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use or other statutory exemptions. There may also be content that is protected under the copyright or neighboring-rights laws of other nations.  Permissions may additionally be required from holders of other rights (such as publicity and/or privacy rights). Whenever possible, we provide information that we have about copyright owners and related matters in the catalog records, finding aids and other texts that accompany collections. However, the information we have may not be accurate or complete.

More about Copyright and other Restrictions

For guidance about compiling full citations consult Citing Primary Sources.

Credit Line: Library of Congress

Cite This Item

Citations are generated automatically from bibliographic data as a convenience, and may not be complete or accurate.

Chicago citation style:

New World Symphony: Program I. 2021. Video.

APA citation style:

(2021) New World Symphony: Program I. [Video] Retrieved from the Library of Congress,

MLA citation style:

New World Symphony: Program I. 2021. Video. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, <>.

More Films, Videos like this