Magna Carta: Muse and Mentor is made possible by support from:

The Federalist Society for Law and Public Policy Studies
1st Financial Bank USA

The Friends of the Law Library of Congress
BP America
The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation
Earhart Foundation
White & Case LLP
The Burton Foundation for Legal Achievement

The Library of Congress also gratefully recognizes contributions received through the Friends of the Law Library from Thomson Reuters, William S. Hein & Co, Inc., Raytheon Company, Brill|Nijhoff Publishers, and the generous support and assistance provided by the British Council.

Additional support is provided by:

The Office of the General Counsel, American University
American Association of Law Libraries
Baronial Order of Magna Charta
Christopher J. and Sheilah F. Brous
Georgetown University Law Center
Tom and Erika Girardi
Magna Carta Foundation
Mark Medish Family
Patricia Glass Schuman and Vincent C. Civello
Roberta I. Shaffer

As well as contributions from an anonymous donor; Law Librarian’s Society of Washington, D.C.; Library of Congress Professional Association; Mary Alice Baish; Robert R. Newlen; and Fairfax Resolves Chapter, Virginia Society, Sons of the American Revolution.

The Library gratefully acknowledges contributions from members of the Executive Board of the Friends of the Law Library of Congress:  Kim Phan and Ambassador Robert Orr; Geoffrey William Anderson; Paul Godlewski; Martin B. Gold; Marian Blank Horn; Robert Horn; Steve Hrubala; Billie Jo Kaufman; Kenny Kraft; Emily Rae; Robert Sargin; and Charles Owen Verrill, Jr.

The exhibition is supported by an indemnity from the Federal Council on the Arts and the Humanities.

Magna Carta: Muse & Mentor was developed under the leadership of James H. Billington, Librarian of Congress.

Exhibition Team

  • William Jacobs, Chief, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Martha Hopkins and Cheryl Regan, Exhibition Directors, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Karen Werth, Production Officer, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Christopher O’Connor, Senior Exhibition Specialist, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Tambra Johnson Reap, Registrar, Interpretive Programs Office

Interpretive Programs Office Staff: Denise Agee, Kimberli Curry, Vicki Fortuno, Rachel Gordon, Carroll Johnson-Welsh, David Jung, Stacie Moats, Betsy Nahum-Miller, Marc Roman, Patrick Shepler, Rachel Waldron, and Cynthia Wayne

Law Librarian of Congress

David S. Mao

Exhibition Curator

Nathan Dorn, Law Library of Congress

Special thanks are due to the following members of the Library of Congress staff for their dedication and tremendous assistance in realizing this exhibition:

Clifton Brown, Jeanine Cali, Liah Caravalho, Xi Fong, Penelope Heavner, Cynthia Jordan, Francisco Macias, James Martin, Robert R. Newlen, Donald M. Simon, Donna Sokol, Wesley Weston, Kimberly S. Zellars, Law Library of Congress; Roberta I. Shaffer [ret.], Library Services; Kaare Chaffee, Nancy Lev-Alexander, Simonette de la Torre, Claire Dekle, Dan Paterson, John Bertonaschi, Heather Wanser, Holly Krueger, Conservation Division; Pam Russell, Law Library; Andrew Cook, Digital Scan Center; Gayle Osterberg, Donna Urschel, Public Affairs Office; Thip Padavong, Laura Moiseev, Web Services; Aditya Coston, Office of General Counsel; Giulia Adelfio, Visitor Services Office; Susan Reyburn, Peggy Wagner, Publishing Office

Exhibition and brochure design

HealyKohler Design

The Library expresses its gratitude to the following individuals for their assistance and expertise:

Gerard W. Gawalt, A. E. Dick Howard, Joyce Lee Malcolm, Bruce O’Brien, and Ellis Sandoz.

The Library acknowledges the contributions of:

Sir Robert Worcester KBE DL; the Very Reverend Philip Buckler, Dean, Lincoln Cathedral; and M. Elizabeth Medaglia, Chair, American Bar Association Standing Committee on the Law Library of Congress