This exhibition was developed under the leadership of James H. Billington, the Librarian of Congress.

Staff for the Exhibition

  • Cheryl Regan, Acting Chief, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Cynthia Wayne, Exhibition Director, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Seth deMatties, Exhibition Director, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Elizabeth Aldrich, Exhibition Curator, Curator of Dance, Music Division

Interpretive Programs Office Staff

Denise Agee, Deborah Durbeck, David Hayward, Martha Hopkins, Carroll Johnson-Welsh, Tambra Johnson, Antonio La Greca, Susan Mordan-White, Betsy Nahum-Miller,Christopher O’Connor, Patrick Shepler, and Rachel Waldron

Media Research

Sam Serafy


The accompanying film was produced for the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater by Steven Budlong, Amanda Rodgers, Stephen Mann and Steven Pecarific, and was made possible with the generous support of Citi.

Special thanks are due to the following members of the Library of Congress staff for their assistance with this exhibition: Deanna Marcum, Library Services; Kevin La Vine, Susan Vita, and Raymond White, Music Division; Kaare Chaffee and Dana Hemmenway, Conservation Office; Stanley Bandong, Graphic Arts Services Unit; Dorothy Gholston, Printing Management Section; Andrew Cook, Jade Curtis, and Domenic Sergi, Digital Scan Center; Jim Karamanis, Thip Padavong, Rohit Gupta, Laura Moiseev, Umesh Kant, Qun Lai, Phillip Buggs, Dan Trachtman, Laurent Teyssere; Web Services; and Erin Allen, Public Affairs Office.

The Library wishes to express gratitude to the following individuals for their assistance and expertise: Justin Garlinghouse, Judith Jamison, and Sharon Gersten Luckman, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater; and Norton Owen, Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival.

Exhibition and brochure design

Dennis/Konetzka Design Group LLC