The Online Exhibition

Thanks to a major gift from the Citigroup Foundation, the Library has launched a five-year effort to add portions of the African-American Odyssey and related rare and unique items from the Library's vast African-American collections to the National Digital Library.

Staff for the Online Exhibition

National Digital Library Program

  • Laura Campbell
  • Nancy Eichacker
  • Catherine Tousignant
  • Glenn Ricci
  • David Woodward
  • Melissa Levine
  • Kerry Hamilton

Interpretive Programs Office

  • Irene Chambers
  • Carroll Johnson-Welsh
  • Jennifer Bride
  • Sally Livingston
  • Robin Mitchell

Information Technology Services

  • Lynn Brooks
  • Michael Smallwood
  • Domenic Sergi

The Physical Exhibition

This exhibition and its programming have been made possible through the generous support of:

  • Anheuser-Busch Companies, Inc.
  • The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation
  • Fannie Mae Foundation
  • The James Madison Council
  • Home Box Office

Staff for the Physical Exhibition


Debra Newman Ham

Contributing Curators, Library of Congress

Maricia Battle, Katherine Blood, and Sara Duke, Prints and Photographs Division; Samuel Brylawski, David Parker and Brian Taves, Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Division; Adrienne Cannon, Manuscript Division; Ronald Grim, Geography and Map Division; Alan Jabbour, American Folklife Center; Ardie Myers, Humanities and Social Sciences Division; Rosemary Fry Plakas, Rare Book and Special Collections Division; Wayne D. Shirley, Music Division

Interpretive Programs Office

Irene Chambers, Interpretive Programs Officer; Carroll Johnson-Welsh, Exhibition Director; Denise Agee; Debbie Durbeck; Christopher O'Connor; Kimberli Curry; Tambra Johnson; Martha Hopkins; David Krueger; Gwynn Wilhelm; Cheryl Regan

Conservation Office

Rikki Condon, Tom Albro, Linda Stiber, Mary Wooton, Priscilla Anderson, Andrew Robb

This exhibition received administrative support in the Library of Congress from the Contracts and Logistics Office, the Development Office, the Information Technology Services, the Integrated Support Services, the Interpretive Programs Office, the National Digital Library Program Office, the Office of Special Events and Public Programs, the Public Affairs Office, the Publications Publishing Office, the Visitor Services Office, and the Office of the Librarian.

Staff Contributors

American Folklife Center
Judith Gray, Joseph Hickerson

Geography and Map
Lillie Atkinson, Carlin RenĂ¢ Sales

Humanities and Social Services
David Kelly, Betty Culpeper, Albert Smith, Bruce Martin

Law Library
Karla Walker, Pamela Barnes Craig

Manuscript Division
Marvin Kranz, Mary Wolfskill, Darlene Foster, Rosalie Scott

Motion Picture, Broadcasting & Recorded Sound Division
Patrick G. Loughney, Maria L. Hegedus, Donna Daniel, Gerald Hatfield

Prints & Photograph Division
Linda Ayers, Chief; Beverly W. Brannan; Verna P. Curtis; Carol Johnson; Harry L. Katz; Cheryl McCullers

Rare Book and Special Collections Division
Joseph Agyemang, Clark Evans, Walter Walden

Scholarly Programs
Prosser Gifford

Serial & Government Publications
John Mark Sweeney

Special Thanks

Linda Osborne, Jerry Handler, Rhett Jones, Michelle Cadoree, Joseph Welsh, VAGA permissions, Turner Entertainment Company; Bill Cayton, Big Fights, Inc.

Exhibition Design

Riggs Ward Design, L.C.


Roger Foley

Soundtrack Tour

A Soundtrack tour by Thwaite Productions makes available many historic audio readings and musical extracts through a digital audio wand that accompanies the exhibition

Back to top