Events at the Library of Congress

Friday, June 21, 2019

Saturday, June 22, 2019

Tuesday, June 25, 2019

  • Event | lectures and symposia
    Book Talk featuring Richard A. Serrano Tuesday
    June 25, 2019
    12:00 pm - 1:00 pm EDT
    Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and former Los Angeles Times correspondent, Richard A. Serrano, will discuss and sign copies of his latest book, "Summoned at Midnight: A Story of Race and the Last Military Executions at Fort Leavenworth." Contact: 202-707-5690 Whittall Pavilion (LJ-G45E)

Saturday, June 29, 2019

Friday, July 5, 2019

  • Event | lectures and symposia
    Cardboard Culture: The Origins of the Great American Baseball Card Friday
    July 5, 2019
    11:00 am - 11:30 am EDT
    James L. Gates, Jr., Library Director of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum will discuss the origins of trading cards including baseball cards and the growth of their popularity. Tickets are available via Eventbrite but are not required. Whittall Pavilion (LJ-G45E)

Thursday, July 11, 2019

  • Event | lectures and symposia
    Walter Isaacson on Changemakers Throughout History Thursday
    July 11, 2019
    12:00 pm - 1:00 pm EDT
    Walter Isaacson, acclaimed author, longtime President and CEO of the Aspen Institute, and Tulane University history professor, will be interviewed by Assistant Deputy Librarian Colleen Shogan. They will explore the lives of innovators, from Leonardo da Vinci to Steve Jobs, and how they changed the world. Isaacson will discuss the importance of innovation and curiousity, as well as the costs that sometimes come with... LJ-119

Tuesday, July 16, 2019

  • Event | lectures and symposia
    Leadership in an Age of Political Conflict Tuesday
    July 16, 2019
    6:30 pm - 8:00 pm EDT
    Acclaimed journalist Ann Compton will interview political strategists Karl Rove and David Axelrod. Coolidge Auditorium (LJ-G45A)

Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Thursday, August 8, 2019

Thursday, September 12, 2019

Thursday, October 17, 2019

  • Event | lectures and symposia
    The Ionosphere: Exploring our Electric Atmosphere Thursday
    October 17, 2019
    11:30 am - 12:30 pm EDT
    Dr. Douglas Rowland will talk about this exciting part of our atmosphere, our interface to space, and NASA’s current missions, ICON and GOLD, which are providing a unique view of this fascinating part of our planet. Pickford Theater (LM-302)

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Thursday, December 5, 2019