Concerts from the Library of Congress


Don't Miss - On this page: Conversation, Educational Videos, Downloadable Program and Other Resources.

Conversation With Terri Lyne Carrington


The Terri Lyne Carrington concert video is no longer available.

Educational Videos

Educational Video #1: Ride Cymbal Dance

Educational Video #2: Fun with Triplets

Educational Video #3: Five Stroke and Stickings

Educational Video #4: Brush Sounds

Educational Video #5: Jazz and Clave

Download Program (PDF, 246KB)
Takacs Quartet program PDF

Terri Lyne Carrington (photo credit, John Watson)

NEA Jazz Master and two-time GRAMMY award-winning drummer, composer, producer, and educator, Terri Lyne Carrington is the 2021 Library of Congress Jazz Scholar. Accompanied by pianist Kris Davis and bassist Linda May Han Oh, Carrington’s all-women-composer program, The New Standards, features music written by stellar musicians including Esperanza Spalding, Maria Schneider, and Geri Allen. As part of her residency, Carrington shares her talent in five educational videos on the elements of jazz drumming. Finally, she engages in a dynamic conversation with a Library curator about her successful career in the jazz world.

Presented in cooperation with the Revada Foundation of the Logan family.

Other ways to watch ...

Explore Related Collections and Resources

All events for the 2020-2021 season of Concerts from the Library of Congress will be presented virtually.
Be sure to check this page for additional content, including conversations with the artists, program notes, links to Library resources and more!