Concerts from the Library of Congress

FRIDAY, JUNE 25, 2021

Don't Miss - On this page: Conversations, Downloadable Program and Other Resources.

The Pavel Haas Quartet with Boris Giltburg concert video is no longer available.

Download Program (PDF, 1MB)
Pavel Hass Quartet program PDF

Pavel Haas Quartet

Pavel Haas Quartet
Photo credit: Herbert Slavik

Boris Giltburg

Boris Giltburg
Photo credit: Oliver Binns


String Quartet no. 2 in D minor, T.131


String Quartet no. 4, BB. 95


Piano Quintet in F minor, op. 34

Veronika Jarůšková & Marek Zwiebel, violins
Luosha Fang, viola
Peter Jarůšek, cello

with Boris Giltburg, piano

Now firmly established as one of the great string quartets performing today, the Pavel Haas Quartet returns to the Library virtually with an exciting program of inimitable works. As The Times described in a pre-pandemic performance at Wigmore Hall, “There’s a special pleasure in watching a seasoned string quartet at the top of their game… [it’s like seeing] exactly what’s happening inside a designer watch: beauty, precision, each part of the apparatus in lockstep with each other.” Offering one of the classic Bartók quartets alongside one of their signature works by Smetana, the Czech powerhouse is joined by pianist Boris Giltburg for Brahms’ piano quintet, the holograph manuscript of which is held at the Library of Congress.


Explore Related Collections and Resources

Conversation with Peter Jarůšek and Boris Giltburg

All events for the 2020-2021 season of Concerts from the Library of Congress will be presented virtually.
Be sure to check this page for additional content, including conversations with the artists, program notes, links to Library resources and more!