Concerts from the Library of Congress

FRIDAY, MARCH 12, 2021

Don't Miss - On this page: Conversation, Downloadable Program and Other Resources.

Conversation with Michael Tilson Thomas


New World Symphony Program I concert video is no longer available.

Download Program (PDF, 269KB)
vision string quartet program

New World Symphony


New World Symphony

Michael Tilson Thomas. Photo credit: Art Streiber


be still and know


Horn Trio


Sonata for two pianos and percussion, Sz. 110, BB 115

Conductor Michael Tilson Thomas introduces a special Library mini-residency project for The New World Symphony, America’s Orchestral Academy (NWS). Admired as a creative laboratory for the way music is taught, presented and experienced, NWS brings together brilliant young musicians for a fellowship program offering in-depth exposure to traditional and modern repertoire and professional development training.

This program features a piano trio by Carlos Simon, a recipient of the 2021 Sphinx Medal for Excellence, who has recently received commissions from the New York Philharmonic, Philadelphia Orchestra, and Washington National Opera, among others.

Other ways to watch ...


Explore Related Collections and Resources



All events for the 2020-2021 season of Concerts from the Library of Congress will be presented virtually.
Be sure to check this page for additional content, including conversations with the artists, program notes, links to Library resources and more!