Concerts from the Library of Congress

SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 19, 2022 at 8:00 PM (ET)

Download Program (PDF, 341KB)
margaret-leng-tan-nov19-program PDF

Margaret Leng Tan

Margaret Leng Tan
Photo credit: Jim Standard


Please register here for this free event.
Seating will be by general admission. You will receive a confirmation of your registration by email, with information about the Library of Congress Health and Safety Protocols.

The incomparable Margaret Leng Tan, champion of the American avant-garde and renowned for her advocacy of the music of John Cage and works for toy piano, offers a program of works new to the Coolidge stage. George Crumb wrote his first book of Metamorphoses for amplified piano for Tan, and she brings his recently completed second book of Metamorphoses to life here as the centerpiece of the program. We will also hear a revival of a rarely heard and unpublished work by Henry Cowell, as well as a classic work for bowed piano by Christopher Hopkins.

Preconcert Lecture by Steven Bruns, Trego Family Faculty Fellow in the College of Music at the University of Colorado, Boulder: 6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion

Please join us for a Nightcap conversation with Margaret Leng Tan following the performance.


Arched Interiors II


Changing Woman


Metamorphoses, Book 2

Explore Related Collections and Resources

Be sure to check this page for additional content, including conversations with the artists, program notes, links to Library resources and more!