Concerts from the Library of Congress

FRIDAY, APRIL 30, 2021

Don't Miss - On this page: Concert, Conversations, Downloadable Program and Other Resources.

Download Program (PDF, 279KB)
Mahan Esfahani program PDF



Six Little Preludes, BWV 933-938
Overture in the French Style, BWV 831


Deux Pièces (op. posth.)


Overture to Orpheus


Passacaglia in D minor
from Musicalischer ParnassusUranieSuite​

The virtuosic and versatile Iranian-American harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani has pursued two primary passions in his career: the compositions of J.S. Bach and contemporary music for the harpsichord. The centerpiece of this beautifully curated program of gems and giants is a work Esfahani calls “Bach’s magnum opus for the keyboard:” the regal, 30-minute Overture in the French Style. Framing it are Bach’s Six Little Preludes, written as teaching pieces, and 20th-century works by Louis Andriessen and Bohuslav Martinů. Andriessen’s dramatic, incantatory overture is a prelude to what the composer describes as “an imaginary opera in which Orpheus plays the leading part.”

Other ways to watch ...

Explore Related Collections and Resources

Conversation with Mahan Esfahani

All events for the 2020-2021 season of Concerts from the Library of Congress will be presented virtually.
Be sure to check this page for additional content, including conversations with the artists, program notes, links to Library resources and more!