Concerts from the Library of Congress


Conversation With the Artist


The Leif Ove Andsnes concert video is no longer available.

Download Program (PDF, 2.75MB)
Pavel Hass Quartet program PDF

Leif Ove Andsnes; Photo credit: Helge Hansen, Sony Music Entertainment

Leif Ove Andsnes
Photo credit: Helge Hansen, Sony Music Entertainment


Piano Sonata no. 8 in C minor, op. 13, “Pathétique”


Selections from Lyric Pieces, op. 54
   1. Gjætergut (Shepherd’s Boy)
   2. Gangar (Norwegian March)
   3. Troldtog (March of the Trolls)
   4. Notturno


Selections from Poetic Tone Pictures, op. 85
   1. Noční cestou (Night Journey)
   2. Žertem (Joking)
   3. Na starém hradě (At the Old Castle)
   4. Jarní (Spring)
   8. Rej skřítků (Goblins’ Dance)
   9. Serenáda (Serenade)
   10. Bacchanale
   13. Na Svaté hoře (At the Holy Mountain)

“…a pianist of magisterial elegance, power, and insight” (The New York Times)

The extraordinary Norwegian pianist Leif Ove Andsnes brings his illuminating artistic vision to our series for an intimate recital. Taking a break from his most recent Mozart collaboration with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Andsnes brings together the music of Beethoven—the “Pathétique” sonata—and a selection of miniatures by Grieg and Dvořák. Pianists around the world are no strangers to Grieg’s Lyric Pieces, but the opportunity to hear pieces from Dvořák’s Poetic Tone Pictures by a pianist of Andsnes’ stature is rare and sure to bring attention to this sometimes-overlooked corner of the repertoire.

Also watch on ...

Explore Related Collections and Resources

All Fall events for the 2021-2022 season of Concerts from the Library of Congress will be presented virtually.
Be sure to check this page for additional content, including conversations with the artists, program notes, links to Library resources and more!