Concerts from the Library of Congress

FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 5, 2021 at 8:00 PM (ET)

Hub New Music

Hub New Music
Photo credit: Robert Torres


Michael Avitabile, flutes  |  Nicholas Brown, clarinets
Alyssa Wang, violin  |  Jesse Christeson, cello

Marco Pavé, spoken word  |  Jared Bailey, trumpet
Carlos Simon, piano  |  Ruoting Li, piano

The versatile musicians of Hub New Music will offer an exciting range of new and recent music, presented in two videos available on the same night! Steven Mackey’s violin sonata, a classic McKim Fund commission from the Library’s archives, will be performed alongside a signature work by Takuma Itoh for Hub’s unusual combination of flute, clarinet, violin and cello. The centerpiece of the concert will be the virtual world premiere of Carlos Simon’s new work Requiem for the Enslaved, a work that grapples with the legacy of slavery at Georgetown University (where Simon is an Assistant Professor) and honors the lives and descendants of slaves sold to raise money for the construction of the university.


Sonata for Violin and Piano




Requiem for the Enslaved, Virtual World Premiere

All Fall events for the 2021-2022 season of Concerts from the Library of Congress will be presented virtually.
Be sure to check this page for additional content, including conversations with the artists, program notes, links to Library resources and more!