Concerts from the Library of Congress


Don't Miss - On this page: Concert, Conversations, Downloadable Program and Other Resources.

Download Program (PDF, 1.15MB)
(Re)Hearing Beethoven: Borromeo Quartet Program

Borromeo String Quartet (Photo credit: Richard Bowditch).

Nicholas Cords (Photo credit: Erin Baiano).


Selection from Symphony no. 7 in A major, op. 92: II


Symphony no. 8 in F major, op. 93


Quartet in B-flat major, op. 130
Grosse Fuge, op. 133

Explore musical relationships in Beethoven’s late works with the preeminent Borromeo String Quartet, featuring his op. 130 string quartet and the legendary Grosse Fuge, labelled by Stravinsky as “an absolutely contemporary piece of music that will be contemporary forever.”

Renowned violist Nicholas Cords joins the quartet for a performance of Beethoven’s 8th symphony in transcription. Hailed for its passionate and fearless performances, the Borromeo carries listeners through extremes of expression, from intimate to triumphant, playing monumental works to celebrate the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth.

Explore Beethoven in the Library's collection with our new resource:
Beethoven: A Guide to Primary and Secondary Resources at the Library of Congress

This concert is part of our (Re)Hearing Beethoven Festival. Be sure to check out the full range of events!

Other ways to watch ...


Explore Related Collections and Resources

Conversation With the Artists

Presto from Beethoven's op. 130 String Quartet
at the Library of Congress

Op. 130 and the Grosse Fugue: Inspiration from expressive markings in Beethoven's manuscript

All events for the 2020-2021 season of Concerts from the Library of Congress will be presented virtually.