Skip to main content

Mario Andretti - Living Legends

Back to Living Legend Honorees

Awarded: April 2008
(b. Feb. 28, 1940)

Race-car driver Mario Andretti has won the Indianapolis 500, the Daytona 500, the Formula One World Championship and the Pikes Peak Hillclimb. He won the American National Championship four times and was a three-time winner at “The 12 Hours of Sebring.” Andretti took the checkered flag 111 times during his career—a career that stretched for five decades. He was named Driver of the Year in the 60s, 70s and 80s; Driver of the Quarter Century in the 90s; and Driver of the Century in January 2000. He retired from active driving at the end of 1994.

Related Library Resources

 Back to top