Skip to main content

Gwendolyn Brooks - Living Legends

Back to Living Legend Honorees

Awarded: April 2000
(June 7, 1917 - Dec. 3, 2000)

Gwendolyn Brooks is the author of more than twenty books of poetry, including "Children Coming Home," "A Street in Bronzeville," "In the Mecca," "The Bean Eaters" and "Annie Allen," for which she won the Pulitzer prize in 1950 and "We Real Cool." Brooks succeeded Carl Sandburg as poet Laureate of Illinois in 1968 and served as Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress from 1985-86. She is the recipient of an American Academy of Arts and Letters award, the Frost Medal and two Guggenheim Foundation Fellowships.

Related Library Resources

 Back to top