Contact: Helen Dalrymple (202) 707-1940
Concert Line: (202) 707-5502
Request ASL and ADA accommodations five days in advance at (202) 707-6362 or by email at

March 20, 2000

Early-Music Groups Will Go for Baroque at the Library of Congress

Spring will resound with early music, as three internationally acclaimed period-instrument ensembles hosted by the Library of Congress provide listeners with a vivid sense of how music sounded in the days of Bach and Mozart.

On Friday, March 24, at 8 p.m., Concerto Köln will perform concertos by J.S. Bach, Mozart, and lesser-known composer Evaristo Felice dall'Abaco (1675-1742). Harpsichordist Celine Frisch and fortepianist Ludwig Semerjian will be the featured soloists in the concert, which will be presented in the Coolidge Auditorium of the Thomas Jefferson Building, 10 First Street S.E.

Concerto Köln is a European ensemble dedicated to rediscovering orchestral and operatic literature of the 17th and 18th centuries. The group plays without a conductor, achieving a close, chamber-like sense of ensemble. Since its founding in 1985, Concerto Köln has won plaudits in many of the world's music capitals, including Amsterdam, Berlin, New York, and Paris, and has made successful appearances in Southeast Asia and at numerous music festivals.

On Friday, March 31, at 8 p.m., in the Coolidge Auditorium, Rinaldo Alessandrini, in only his third appearance in the United States, will direct Concerto Italiano in a program ofMonteverdi, Pergolesi, and Corelli, as well as rarely performed works by such Italian composers as Marini, Legrenzi, and Bononcini. Mr. Alessandrini's first performance in this country was last year at the Library, when he performed as a solo harpsichordist. Guest artist Sara Mingardo, one of today's few authentic contraltos, will sing Monteverdi's "Lamento d'Arianna" and Pergolesi's "Salve Regina." Ms. Mingardo has been hailed by Gramophone magazine as "a singer to watch out for" with "great vocal dexterity and strength."

On Friday, April 7, at 8 p.m., also in the Coolidge Auditorium, La Luna: Ensemble for 17th-Century Music will present a series of virtuoso variations, sonatas, and fantasies from the rich repertoire of the 1660s. La Luna specializes in bringing to life the first great flowerings of instrumental chamber music in Europe. The program will spotlight harpsichordist Byron Schenkman, winner of the 1999 Bodky Prize, baroque violinists Ingrid Matthews and Scott Metcalfe, and cellist Emily Walhout, who also plays the viola da gamba.

Tickets for the concerts will be distributed by TicketMaster at (301) 808-6900, (410) 752-1200 or, for out-of-state residents, (800) 551-7328. Each ticket will carry a nominal service charge of $2, with additional charges for phone orders and handling. Tickets are also available at TicketMaster outlets; for a complete list, visit the TicketMaster site at (external link). Although the supply of tickets may be exhausted, there are often empty seats at concert time. Interested patrons are encouraged to come to the Library by 6:30 p.m. on concert night to wait in the standby line for no-show tickets.

# # #

PR 00-043
ISSN 0731-3527

Back to top