Contact: Craig D'Ooge (202) 707-9189

May 19, 1997

Florida and Nebraska Win 1997 Boorstin Center for the Book Awards

On May 5, Librarian of Congress Emeritus Daniel J. Boorstin presented the first two Boorstin Center for the Book Awards to the Florida and the Nebraska Centers for the Book. Each of the annual awards includes a cash prize of $5,000.

The National Award, won this year by Florida, the first state center, recognizes the contribution that a state center has made to the Center for the Book's overall national program.

The State Award, won by Nebraska, recognizes a specific project; in this instance, the Nebraska Literature Festival, inaugurated by the Nebraska Center for the Book in 1990.

Dr. Boorstin made the presentation during the Center for the Book's "idea exchange day," an annual gathering of state centers at the Library of Congress. Representatives of 29 state centers took part in the discussions and in special events at the Library on May 4-5.

"I am enormously proud of the Center for the Book and its crucial role in promoting books, reading, and libraries throughout America," said Dr. Boorstin, who created the center in 1977, early in his career (1975-1987) as Librarian of Congress. "My wife, Ruth, and I are delighted to provide financial support for the center's national program, and we invite others to join us through their tax-deductible gifts to the center."

For information about the Center for the Book and its activities, contact the Center for the Book, Library of Congress, 101 Independence Ave. S.E., Washington, DC 20450- 4920, (202) 707-5221 (telephone), (202) 707-0269 (fax), or visit the Center's Web site at:

# # #

PR 97-95
ISSN 0731-3527

Back to top