Contact: Craig D'Ooge (202) 707-9189

September 20, 1995

Former White House Speech Writers Discuss Roles

The Library of Congress and Rhino Records will present a Presidential Speechwriters Roundtable on Friday, September 22 from noon to 3 p.m. at the National Press Club. A buffet lunch will be served at noon, with the discussion beginning at 12:45 p.m.

Participating in the roundtable, which will be moderated by Hendrik Hertzberg, former Carter speechwriter and executive editor of The New Yorker magazine, are Theodore Sorensen (Kennedy), Mary Kate Cary (Bush), William Ewald (Eisenhower), and Anthony Dolan (Reagan). Other former speechwriters are expected to attend.

The event marks the release of "Historic Presidential Speeches" (1908-1993), an audio box set of six CD/cassettes drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress on the Rhino Record label. Every President from Taft through Clinton is represented by one or more speech. The choice of speeches for Kennedy through Clinton was made by the Presidents themselves, their widows, or their close associates, with the exception of Richard Nixon, whose "silent majority" speech was selected on the basis of his own writing about the speech. Earlier speeches were selected by the staff of the Library of Congress.

# # #

PR 95-126
ISSN 0731-3527

Back to top