Contact: Craig D'Ooge (202) 707-9189

July 15, 1995

H.W. Wilson Foundation Donates $50,000 to the Center for the Book

Librarian of Congress James H. Billington has announced that the H. W. Wilson Foundation is donating $50,000 to the Center for the Book to support "Shape Your Future--Read!," the center's 1995-1996 national reading promotion campaign. "We are grateful to the H.W. Wilson Foundation for this gift and for its loyal support of the Center for the Book's program during the past decade," said John Y. Cole, the center's director. "The Center for the Book is a partnership between the government and the private sector; each year we depend on donors such as the H. W. Wilson Foundation to support our projects in Washington and throughout the nation."

The Center for the Book was established in 1977 by Public Law 95-129 to stimulate public interest in books, reading, and libraries. The Librarian of Congress was authorized to "receive money and other property donated, bequeathed, or devised" to support the center's program.

Early contributors included the Book-of-the-Month Club, Mrs. Charles W. Engelhard, Harper & Row, Clare Boothe Luce, McGraw-Hill, Charles Scribner's Sons, Time-Life Books, and Barbara W. Tuchman. In addition to the H. W. Wilson Foundation, annual contributors in recent years include the Annenberg Foundation, the Association of American Publishers, Baker & Taylor, Bantam & Taylor, Bantam Doubleday Dell, Barnes & Noble, Blackwell North America, Daniel J. and Ruth Boorstin, Arthur Brody, R.R. Donnelley & Sons, Encyclopaedia Britannica, Robert W. Frase, Hearst Books, Pizza Hut, Random House, Reed Reference Publishing, Simon & Schuster, Thomson Newspapers, University Microfilms, John E. Velde Jr., Waldenbooks, and John S. Wiley & Sons. Another 200 individuals made personal, tax-deductible donations of $25 or more to the center in 1994.

For information, write or call the Center for the Book, Library of Congress, Washington, DC 20540-8200, (202) 707-5221.

# # #

PR 95-099
ISSN 0731-3527

Back to top