Contact: Helen Dalrymple (202) 707-1940

October 21, 1994

Librarian of Congress Names Participants in New Leadership Development Program

Librarian of Congress James H. Billington has just named the first 10 participants in the new Library of Congress Leadership Development Program. Supported by a $1 million gift from John W. Kluge, President of Metromedia Company and Chairman of the James Madison Council of the Library of Congress, the program is designed to help revitalize librarianship while providing new opportunities for members of minority groups who will play an increasing role in America's cultural and educational institutions.

"Libraries are undergoing fundamental change as they meet the challenges of electronic technologies, decreasing public funding, and increasing public demands," said Dr. Billington in announcing the selections. "The library of the future requires the best minds and strongest professional dedication that can be found. Through this program, the Library of Congress is addressing its responsibility to develop new leaders for the Information Age."

The Leadership Development Program will provide participants with a well-rounded training program that includes managerial work experience, management training seminars, and guidance by a professional mentor to give them the skills they need for eventual placement at the end of the program in a position of leadership either within or outside of the Library of Congress.

The participants in the program, which begins Jan. 3, 1995, are: Rose Rodriguez Apter, a Copyright Examiner in the Copyright Office of the Library of Congress and President of the Librarians' Guild, AFSCME 2910; Lavonda Broadnax, Chief Librarian of the Medical Library at D.C. General Hospital; Adrienne Cannon, Associate Curator for Public Services at the University of Virginia Library; Marieta Harper, a Senior Acquisitions Specialist in the Library's Order Division; Arlyne Jackson, currently head of Harvard's Littauer Library; Judy Shuet-Heung Kestell, an independent consultant specializing in law librarianship; Charlynn Spencer Pyne, Senior Librarian and Children's Specialist at the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped of the Library of Congress; James Scott, Coordinator of Child Health Programs at the Chicago Board of Health; Amparo de Torres, Assistant to the Conservation Officer in the Library of Congress Preservation Directorate; and Lester Vogel, a Senior Cataloger in the Arts and Sciences Division of the Library of Congress.

The program's Advisory Committee, chaired by Rep. Major R. Owens (D-N.Y.), was represented during the selection process by Dr. John Tyson. Tyson, an associate professor at the University of Tennessee School of Information Sciences, joined Library of Congress personnel in interviewing candidates and making recommendations for selection to Dr. Billington.

The other members of the Advisory Committee are: Dr. Charles Churchwell, Dean of the School of Library and Information Studies at Clark-Atlanta University; Dr. Hardy Franklin, Director of the Public Library of the District of Columbia; Martin Gomez, Director of the Oakland (Calif.) Public Library; Dr. E.J. Josey, Professor, School of Library and Information Science, University of Pittsburgh; Dr. Susan Lee, Associate Librarian, Harvard College Library; and Dr. Jessie Carney Smith, Dean of Libraries at Fisk University.

The class of eight women and two men comprises six African Americans, two Hispanics, one Asian American, and one Caucasian. "This program will tap a rich vein of diverse leadership for the profession," Dr. Billington said.

# # #

PR 94-162
ISSN 0731-3527

Back to top