Contact: Helen Dalrymple (202) 707-1940
Concert Line: (202) 707-5502

May 9, 1994

Netherlands Wind Ensemble Debuts in Library of Congress Concert Series

Under the auspices of the Kindler Foundation in the Library of Congress, the acclaimed Netherlands Wind Ensemble makes its Library of Congress concert series debut on Friday evening, June 3, 1994, at the National Academy of Sciences, 2100 C Street NW. Founded in 1959, the Netherlands Wind Ensemble now comprises principal wind players from that country's most prestigious orchestras, including the Rotterdam Philharmonic and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

All Library of Congress concerts are free and open to the public, and all begin at 8:00 p.m. No tickets are required and non-reserved seating is on a first-come, first-served basis. The Academy's auditorium seats 670 people and is accessible to the disabled. The doors to the Academy building open at 7:00 p.m. The doors to the auditorium will open at 7:30 p.m.

The Kindler Foundation was formed in 1952 to honor the memory of Hans Kindler, founder of Washington DC's National Symphony Orchestra. During his tenure as music director and conductor, Dr. Kindler performed many works by new composers, continuing a practice he had followed as a solo cellist when he gave first performances of works by Ravel and Schoenberg.

The Kindler Foundation honors the man and artist by commissioning works to be presented in concert. The first such commission -- the Sonata No. 3 for Cello and Piano by Bohuslav Martinu -- was premiered in 1953. The Kindler Foundation was established in the Library of Congress in 1983.

Joining the Netherlands Wind Ensemble will be the young award-winning cellist Pieter Wispelwey, who will perform the Martinu sonata with pianist Lois Shapiro. The Ensemble will accompany Mr. Wispelwey in the intriguing Concerto for Cello and Wind Ensemble by Jacques Ibert, and it will perform Chanson et Danses by Vincent d'Indy and Snapdragon by American composer Eleanor Hovda. The latter work was commissioned by the 1993 Holland Festival for the Netherlands Wind Ensemble. The concert will close with the celebrated Serenade in D minor, Op. 44 by Antonin Dvorak.

This is the last concert that the Library of Congress will present at the National Academy of Sciences auditorium, a collaboration that began in October 1990 because of the renovation of the Library's Thomas Jefferson Building where its traditional venue for chamber music concerts, the Coolidge Auditorium, is located. The Library's concerts will resume in the Coolidge Auditorium for the 1995-1996 concert season. There will be no chamber music concerts presented by the Library of Congress in the Fall of 1994 or the Spring of 1995.

The National Academy of Sciences continues its own 14th season of free concerts this year. The Academy's concert series is produced by Arts in the Academy and features performances by its resident ensemble, National Musical Arts.

# # #

PR 94-089
ISSN 0731-3527

Back to top