Contact: Craig D'Ooge (202) 707-9189

September 13, 1993

Poets Susan Ludvigson and Michael McFee To Read at Library of Congress October 14

On Thursday evening, October 14, the Library of Congress's Gertrude Clarke Whittall Poetry and Literature Fund will present a reading by poets Susan Ludvigson and Michael McFee. The reading will be at 6:45 p.m. in the Montpelier Room, Madison Building, 101 Independence Ave. S.E., and will be followed by a reception. Poet Laureate Rita Dove will introduce the poets. Tickets are not required.

Susan Ludvigson is professor of English and poet-in-residence at Winthrop University. She is the recipient of fellowships and grants from the Guggenheim, Rockefeller, Witter Bynner, and Fulbright foundations, as well as from the National Endowment for the Arts and the North and South Carolina arts commissions. She was poetry editor for Intro 13, the anthology of the Associated Writing Programs, and served as a judge for recent Intro awards.

Last year, Ms. Ludvigson served on three National Endowment for the Arts peer review panels, including the poetry fellowships panel. Her seven books include The Beautiful Noon of No Shadow, To Find the Gold, and Everything Winged Must Be Dreaming. She represented the United States at the First International Women Writers' Congress in Paris, a conference of French, Soviet and American writers, as well as at writers meetings in Canada, Yugoslavia, and Belgium. This fall she will participate in a congress of poets in Cyprus.

Of Ms. Ludvigson's most recent collection of poems, Everything Winged Must Be Dreaming, Jonathan Holden wrote: "Nobody in our poetry celebrates existence more authentically than Ludvigson, or gives us better advice about how to live. And this is her strongest book yet."

Deborah Pope, in Southern Poetry Review, said of To Find the Gold: "The voice is rich in sensual and spiritual knowledge, able to passionately celebrate without guile, meditate without affectation, ache without self-pity. `To Enter,' the stunning closing poem of the book, exemplifies the twinned beauty and fierceness driving Ludvigson's vision of love and art."

Michael McFee is the author of four collections of poetry: Plain Air; Vanishing Acts; To See, in which his poems are paired with photographs by Elizabeth Matheson; and Sad Girl Sitting on a Running Board. He received his A.B. degree (graduating summa cum laude in creative writing) and his M.A. degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He is currently lecturer in creative writing at the University of North Carolina and has served on the faculties of Cornell, Lawrence, North Carolina State, and Duke universities. Mr. McFee's many awards and honors include the 1991-92 Durham Arts Council Seasonal Grant, a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship, the 1986 Ingram Merrill Foundation Fellowship, the 1981-82 Pushcart Prize, and a Discovery/The Nation Award (1980). He is the author of many reviews and critical essays in publications such as USA Today, Newsday, and Pembroke Magazine.

Of Mr. McFee's collection Plain Air, William Harmon wrote: "For upwards of four centuries, poor old modest North Carolina dragged along, never batting higher than about .125 in the Literary League, and even that meager team average was the work of solo slugger Thomas Wolfe... And now, having evidently gotten the knack, North Carolina gives us Michael McFee, and the state can brag smugly and gloatingly."

# # #

PR 93-113
ISSN 0731-3527

Back to top