Press Contact: John Sullivan (202) 707-9216
Concert Line: (202) 707-5502

August 25, 1993

Library of Congress and National Academy of Sciences Continue Collaboration with 1993-1994 Concert Series

The Library of Congress continues its collaboration with the National Academy of Sciences in its 1993-94 concert series at the National Academy of Sciences auditorium, 2100 C Street NW.

The fall season of concerts combines the traditional with the unexpected, and features the unfailing excellence of the Library's resident ensembles, the Beaux Arts Trio and the Juilliard String Quartet. New to the Library of Congress concert series are the innovative jazz saxophonist and composer Oliver Lake and the Oliver Lake Quartet, the Orchestra of St. Luke's Chamber Ensemble, and the Anderson String Quartet.

All Library of Congress concerts are free and open to the public, and all begin at 8:00 p.m. No tickets are required and non- reserved seating is on a first-come, first-served basis. The Academy's auditorium seats 670 people and is barrier-free. The doors to the Academy building open at 7:00 p.m. The doors to the auditorium will open at 7:30 p.m.

The fall series begins on Thursday and Friday evenings, September 30 and October 1, with the Juilliard String Quartet (violinists Robert Mann and Joel Smirnoff, violist Samuel Rhodes, and cellist Joel Krosnick). The quartet will perform Haydn's Quartet in D minor, Op. 42, Quartet No. 5 by Andrew Imbrie, and Beethoven's Quartet in C-sharp minor, Op. 131.

On October 23, Oliver Lake brings his quartet and distinctive style to Washington. The New York Time's Jon Pareles says that Oliver Lake " warps conventions, then makes himself at home in the new landscape." A superb jazz saxophonist and successful composer, Mr. Lake has been the recipient of numerous grants and commissions, including a 1993 Guggenheim Fellowship, several "Meet the Composer" grants, and a new work for violin and piano -- commissioned by the McKim Fund in the Library of Congress -- which will have its premiere at this concert. The program will include other works by Mr. Lake, including Page Four, Nov 80, and We're in the Moment, and compositions by Eric Dolphy.

The concert by the Orchestra of St. Luke's Chamber Ensemble on Friday evening, November 19, will include Devil (a world premiere), the Septet for Wind Instruments by Hindemith, Contrasts by Bartok, and the Piano Sextet by Poulenc. The Orchestra of St. Luke's Chamber Ensemble is the core of the larger orchestra founded in 1974 by its artistic director, Michael Feldman. Since its inception, the St. Luke's Chamber Ensemble has consistently distinguished itself with remarkable stylistic ability and diversity of musical interests. The group's comprehensive repertoire, which ranges from Baroque suites to contemporary works, maintains a special commitment to the performance of new works, such as Washington composer Anne LeBaron's Devil in the Belfry, commissioned by the McKim Fund in the Library of Congress.

The Beaux Arts Trio (pianist Menahem Pressler, violinist Ida Kavafian, and cellist Peter Wiley), returns on Thursday and Friday evenings, December 2-3, with Korngold's Trio in D major, No. 1, the Trio No. 2 in E minor, Op. 67 by Shostakovich, and Beethoven's Trio in B-flat major, Op. 97, the "Archduke Trio."

On Friday evening, December 10, the Anderson Quartet, currently in residence at City College of New York, will perform Haydn's Quartet in E-flat major, Op. 33, No. 2, Quartet No. 8, Op. 110, by Shostakovich, and the Quartet in D major, Op. 44, No. 1 by Mendelssohn. Formerly known as the Chaminade Quartet, violinists Marianne Henry and Marisa McLeod, violist Dierdre Lawrence, and cellist Michael Cameron changed the name of the group to honor the legendary contralto Marian Anderson. The Anderson String Quartet is the first African-American chamber ensemble to win a major classical music competition: the 1991 International Cleveland Quartet competition. Since 1989, the quartet has been active in the musical life of New York City and has performed extensively throughout the United States and Europe.

The Library's fall concert season will conclude on Friday and Saturday evenings, December 17-18, with the Juilliard String Quartet and guest artist, clarinettist Charles Neidich. The concert will include the Quartet in C minor, Op. 17, No. 4 by Haydn, the Quartet No. 4, Op. 32, by Hindemith, and Brahms's Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Op. 115.

The National Academy of Sciences offers its own 14th season of free concerts this year. The Academy's concert series is produced by Arts in the Academy and features performances by its resident ensemble, National Musical Arts.




September 30/October 1 -- Juilliard String Quartet

October 23 -- Oliver Lake and Oliver Lake Quartet

November 19 -- Orchestra of St. Luke's Chamber Ensemble

December 2/3 -- Beaux Arts Trio

December 10 -- Anderson Quartet

December 17/18 -- Juilliard String Quartet

# # #

PR 93-108
ISSN 0731-3527

Back to top