Contact: Helen Dalrymple (202) 707-1940
Concert Information: (202) 707-5502 (202)

May 19, 1993

The Library of Congress Presents Mingus Big Band

The Library of Congress will present the Mingus Big Band on Friday, June 4, at the National Academy of Sciences Auditorium at 8:00 p.m. The concert celebrates the Library's recent acquisition of the Charles Mingus Collection, which includes manuscripts, scores, recordings, photographs, and other documents from the archives of the great jazz bassist and composer.

The concert is free, and no tickets are required. Non-reserved seating is available on a first-come, first-served basis. The National Academy of Sciences is located at 2100 C St., N.W., Washington, D.C. The Academy's auditorium seats 670 people and is barrier-free. Doors to the building open at 7:00 p.m., and seating will begin at 7:30 p.m. Concert-goers are advised to arrive early. Mingus Big Band was created by Sue Graham Mingus, the composer's widow and the director of Let My Children Hear Music, the Charles Mingus Institute. The 14-member repertory orchestra features some of the finest jazz musicians performing today, including players from the Mingus Dynasty and Mingus's own "Epitaph" orchestra.

Members of the Mingus Big Band are:

Trumpets: Randy Brecker, Ryan Kisor, Melton Mustafa

Trombones: Art Baron, Sam Burtis, Dave Taylor

Saxophones: Alex Foster, Chris Potter, Craig Handy, Ronnie Cuber, Steve Slagle

Piano: Kenny Drew, Jr.

Bass: Michael Formanek

Drums: Marvin "Smitty" Smith

Since 1991, Mingus Big Band has attracted rave notices for its weekly appearances at New York's Time Cafe. Jon Pareles of The New York Times says the group has "revived Charles Mingus's repertory and the brawling, muscular, hard-swinging, bluesy way he wanted it played."

Repertory for the band's Library of Congress concert will include Mingus classics --The Shoes of the Fisherman's Wife, Fables of Faubus, and The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady (Part I) -- as well as less-familiar compositions, many arranged by musicians from the band. The band's first compact disc, Nostalgia in Times Square, will be released by Dreyfus Records in Europe in June and will be available in the U.S. this summer.

On Tuesday, June 1, Sue Graham Mingus and jazz scholar Andrew Homzy will speak at a press conference at the Library of Congress announcing the acquisition of the Charles Mingus Collection by the Library's Music Division. The press conference will be held at noon in Dining Room A, 6th floor, James Madison Building, 101 Independence Avenue, S.E.

"Mingus Big Band: Live at the Library of Congress" will be produced as a special one-hour radio program in the "Concerts from the Library of Congress" series, which is distributed nationwide by the American Public Radio Network. The uplink date is June 21.

# # #

PR 93-073
ISSN 0731-3527

Back to top