Press Contact: John Sullivan (202) 707-9216

February 12, 1993

Poets Deborah Digges and J.D. McClatchy To Read at the Library of Congress March 11

Poets Deborah Digges and J. D. McClatchy will read from their work in the Library's Mumford Room on Thursday, March 11, at 6:30 p.m. The reading is presented under the auspices of the Gertrude Clarke Whittall Poetry and Literature Fund; the event is free and tickets are not required.

Deborah Digges's first book of poems, Vesper Sparrows, (Atheneum, 1986), won the Delmore Schwartz Memorial Poetry Prize from New York University. Her second collection, Late in the Millennium, was published by Alfred A. Knopf in 1989. She has been a fellow of the National Endowment for the Arts, the Ingram Merrill Foundation, and the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation. Her poems have been published in many magazines and literary journals, including The New Yorker, The Atlantic Monthly, Antaeus, Ploughshares, and The American Poetry Review. Ms. Digges's memoir, Fugitive Spring, in 1992 by Knopf and was recently nominated as one of the five best nonfiction books by the Quality Paperback Book Club.

Ms. Digges also served as Poetry Panelist for the National Endowment for the Arts in 1992 - 93 and has taught in the graduate writing divisions of New York University and Columbia University. She is now assistant professor of English at Tufts University.

J. D. McClatchy is the author of three collections of poems: Scenes from Another Life (1981), Stars Principal (1986), and The Rest of the Way (1990). His literary essays are collected in White Paper (1989), which was awarded the Melville Cane Award by the Poetry Society of America. He has also edited several other books, including The Vintage Book of Contemporary American Poetry (1990), Poets on Painters (1988), Recitative: Prose by James Merrill (1986), and Anne Sexton: The Poet and Her Critics (1978). Mr. McClatchy is also a translator, and his new version of Horace's The Art of Poetry will be published later this year by Sea Cliff Press.

Mr. McClatchy has taught for many years at Princeton, Yale, Columbia, UCLA, Rutgers, and other universities. Since 1991, he has served as editor of The Yale Review. In addition, he has written four opera libretti: for William Schuman's A Question of Taste, commissioned and premiered by the Glimmerglass Opera Theater in Cooperstown, New York, and later produced at Lincoln Center; for Francis Thorne's Mario and the Magician, to be given its world premiere next January at Brooklyn College; for Bruce Saylor's Orpheus Descending, based on the Tennessee Williams's play and commissioned by the Chicago Lyric Opera; and for Tobias Picker's Emmeline, for the Santa Fe Opera.

Among his many honors, Mr. McClatchy has been awarded the Fellowship of the Academy of American Poets, and grants from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts. Note: Sign language interpretation for the hearing-impaired will be available.

# # #

PR 93-019
ISSN 0731-3527

Back to top