To link to this article, copy this persistent link:

(Oct 06, 2008) On September 29, 2008, Brazil's President, Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, signed Decree No. 6583, which promulgates the Orthographic Agreement of the Portuguese Language, previously signed in Lisbon on December 16, 1990, by Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal and São Tomé e Príncipe. According to the Agreement, the letters 'K', 'W,' and 'Y' will be reintroduced into the alphabet and a few grammatical rules will also change. The decree enters into force in January 2009 and will have a three-year transitional period for its implementation. (Lula Assina Decreto para Implantação do Acordo Ortográfico, O GLOBO ONLINE, Sept. 29, 2008, available at

Author: Eduardo Soares More by this author
Topic: Languages More on this topic
Jurisdiction: Brazil More about this jurisdiction

Search Legal News
Find legal news by topic, country, keyword, date, or author.

Global Legal Monitor RSS
Get the Global Legal Monitor delivered to your inbox. Sign up for RSS service.

The Global Legal Monitor is an online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from the Global Legal Information Network, official national legal publications, and reliable press sources. You can find previous news by searching the GLM.

Last updated: 10/06/2008