To link to this article, copy this persistent link:

(Jan 23, 2009) Sheikh Hasina, President of the Bangladesh Awami League party, won the Bangladesh parliamentary election held on December 29, 2008. She was sworn in as the country's Prime Minister on January 6, 2009. This is Hasina's second term as Prime Minister since Bangladesh became an independent country. President Iajuddin Ahmed administered the oath of office to Hasina and her 31 new Cabinet members.

The Awami League and its allies won more than two-thirds of Parliament's 300 seats in this election. Only 31 seats went to the opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) and its allies. BNP's newly elected legislators did not take the oath of office on the scheduled date but have said that they would do so soon.

Hasina becomes the Prime Minister of Bangladesh's Ninth Parliament. This ends two years of rule by an interim government backed by the military. Bangladesh's Eighth Parliament was dissolved in October 2006 after five years of rule by a BNP-led government.

A senior Awami League Party leader, Zillur Rahman, has been named as the next President of Bangladesh. Under the Constitution of Bangladesh, the President holds a mostly ceremonial position but acts as the head of the Bangladesh armed forces. (Hasina Sworn In as Bangladesh's Prime Minister, INTERNATIONAL HERALD TRIBUNE, Jan. 6, 2009, available at


Author: Shameema Rahman More by this author
Topic: Elections and politics More on this topic
Jurisdiction: Bangladesh More about this jurisdiction

Search Legal News
Find legal news by topic, country, keyword, date, or author.

Global Legal Monitor RSS
Get the Global Legal Monitor delivered to your inbox. Sign up for RSS service.

The Global Legal Monitor is an online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from the Global Legal Information Network, official national legal publications, and reliable press sources. You can find previous news by searching the GLM.

Last updated: 01/23/2009