To link to this article, copy this persistent link:

(Jul 02, 2008) Belgium, The Netherlands, and Luxembourg signed a new Benelux Treaty on June 17, 2008, in The Hague. The new treaty revises the present treaty, signed in 1958, which will come to an end on October 31, 2010. Article 2 of the new treaty provides its main objectives: to protect the Benelux countries' pioneering role in the European Union and extend cross-border cooperation in the areas of the internal market and economic union, sustainable development, and justice and home affairs. (Nouveau Traité Benelux – 17/06/2008, Benelux Secretariat-General Web site, June 17, 2008, available at

Author: Nicole Atwill More by this author
Topic: International affairs More on this topic
Jurisdiction: Belgium More about this jurisdiction
 Luxembourg More about this jurisdiction
 Netherlands More about this jurisdiction

Search Legal News
Find legal news by topic, country, keyword, date, or author.

Global Legal Monitor RSS
Get the Global Legal Monitor delivered to your inbox. Sign up for RSS service.

The Global Legal Monitor is an online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from the Global Legal Information Network, official national legal publications, and reliable press sources. You can find previous news by searching the GLM.

Last updated: 07/02/2008