To link to this article, copy this persistent link:

(Nov 02, 2007) On October 16, 2007, the United Nations General Assembly voted almost unanimously (183 out of 190 votes) in favor of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam becoming a non-permanent member of the U.N. Security Council for the 2008-2009 term. Libya, Burkina Faso, Costa Rica, and Croatia were also elected to serve a two-year term on the Council, which comprises five permanent members with veto power and ten non-permanent members. In order to win election to the Council, countries must receive a two-thirds majority of the votes cast. Five countries leave the body each year, to be replaced by five others from the same region. Vietnam and Croatia are first-time members. (Warren Hoge, Libya and Vietnam Elected to UN Security Council, INTERNATIONAL HERALD TRIBUNE, Oct. 16, 2007, available at; Five Non-Permanent Security Council Members Elected for Seats Starting Next Year, UN NEWS CENTRE, Oct. 16, 2007, available at council.)

Author: Wendy Zeldin More by this author
Topic: International affairs More on this topic
Jurisdiction: United Nations More about this jurisdiction
 Vietnam More about this jurisdiction

Search Legal News
Find legal news by topic, country, keyword, date, or author.

Global Legal Monitor RSS
Get the Global Legal Monitor delivered to your inbox. Sign up for RSS service.

The Global Legal Monitor is an online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from the Global Legal Information Network, official national legal publications, and reliable press sources. You can find previous news by searching the GLM.

Last updated: 11/02/2007