The Library of Congress > National Jukebox > Browse all Recordings > Gems from The chocolate soldier

WARNING: These historical recordings may contain offensive or inappropriate language. Full disclaimer

This content requires a web browser with Javascript enabled and Adobe Flash Player 10+external link

  • Recording Title

    Gems from The chocolate soldier

  • Other Title(s)

    • A chocolate soldier (Work title)
    • Tapfere Soldat. Selections (Uniform title)
    • Fighting for love ; That would be lovely ; Letter duet ; Thank the Lord the war is over ; My hero (Medley contents)
  • Vocal group

    Victor Light Opera Company

  • Composer

    Oscar Straus

  • Conductor

    Josef Pasternack

  • Lyricist

    Stanislaus Stange

  • Baritone vocal

    Reinald Werrenrath

  • Bass vocal

    Wilfred Glenn

  • Contralto

    Elsie Baker

  • Soprano vocal

    Lucy Isabelle Marsh , Olive Kline

  • Tenor vocal

    Charles H. Hart

  • Genre(s)


  • Category


  • Description

    Vocal chorus and soloists, with orchestra

  • Language


  • Label Name/Number

    Victor 35416

  • Matrix Number/Take Number


  • Recording Date


  • Place of Recording

    Camden, New Jersey

  • Size


  • Duration


  • Notes

    Specific company members and medley selections listed for issued takes only. For takes 5 and 13, performers for each selection are not identified in the Victor ledgers. For take 15, consult Bolig Gems for further information about specific solo vocalists

  • Rights & Access

    This recording is protected by state copyright laws in the United States. The Library of Congress has obtained a license from rights holders to offer it as streamed audio only. Downloading is not permitted. The authorization of rights holders of the recording is required in order to obtain a copy of the recording. Contact [email protected] for more information.


    Source of original recording: Recorded Sound Section, Library of Congress. Inclusion of the recording in the National Jukebox, courtesy of Sony Music Entertainment.


The National Jukebox is a project of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation. The goal of the Jukebox is to present to the widest audience possible early commercial sound recordings, offering a broad range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning.

These selections are presented as part of the record of the past. They are historical documents which reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times. The Library of Congress does not endorse the views expressed in these recordings, which may contain content offensive to users.

About National Jukebox

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

Find out more

First Time Here?

Find out about playlisting, what “matrix” means, and other ways to get the most from the National Jukebox.