Video Presentation

2001 FLICC Awards Ceremony

This video presentation uses the RealMedia plugin. When you click on one of these files, your browser may give you directions for downloading. If you need additional information, visit the RealMedia Web Site.

Connect to the videos at the lower 56kb rate or use the high speed LAN if available. For information on your local system requirements, contact your system administrator.

The Federal Library and Information Center Committee (FLICC) announced the winners of its national awards for federal librarianship at the 19th Annual FLICC Forum on Federal Information Policies on March 19 at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. The awards recognized the many innovative ways that federal libraries, librarians and library technicians fulfill the information demands of government, business, scholarly communities and the American public.

The FLICC Award winners for Fiscal Year 2001 are:

2001 Federal Library/Information Center of the Year

The National Defense University Library is recognized for its high level of customer service, the development of outstanding collections in support of the university's mission, and its extraordinary reference services. In 2001, the library began offering distance learning students digital library access, digitized the personal papers of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and increased the library's visibility through exhibits, tours and lectures, as well as high quality on-site and remote services.

2001 Federal Librarian of the Year

An abundance of highly qualified librarians with outstanding, innovative and sustained achievements in 2001 resulted in a tie for this category:

Pamela Dawes, Director, Haskell Library, Haskell Indian Nations University, Lawrence, Kan., is recognized for conscientious and enthusiastic leadership in expanding and improving library services to the Haskell Indian Nations University. In 2001, she acquired supplemental funding grants and donated resources for the library that total more than $90,000. She initiated an aggressive acquisition program that increased holdings by 700 titles and created an American Indian language tapes collection. Her commitment to excellence increased the Haskell Library's usage by 21 percent last year, and her advocacy efforts have led to enhanced accessibility for patrons with disabilities.

Lynne C. Tobin, Chief, Reference Library, National Imagery and Mapping Agency, Bethesda, Md., is recognized for her active and innovative leadership in expanding a small reference collection into a full-fledged branch of the National Imagery and Mapping Agency (NIMA) reference library. In 2001, she directed the retrospective conversion of legacy textual materials and loaded them into NIMA's new Voyager ILS. Her efforts have improved access via employees' workstations to texts and maps that are currently cataloged following MARC standards. The bibliographic instruction program and training materials she initiated are now recognized by the NIMA College.

2001 Federal Library Technician of the Year

Leslie Yeakley, Library Technician, DTIC Technical Library, Defense Technical Information Center, Fort Belvoir, Va., is recognized for her proactive work ethic exemplified by her consistent enthusiasm, initiative, tenacity and resourcefulness. In 2001, she served as the only DTIC library staff member for several months while at the same time testing software to map COSATI-format bibliographic records to the MARC format. She is also recognized for balancing her excellent technical competencies with a strong personal commitment to providing customer service. Patricia E. Tellman, Library Technician, Base Library, Naval Air Station, Fort Worth, Texas, received an honorable mention.

The award winners and their supervisors were honored at a ceremony preceding the annual Forum. General Donald L. Scott, Deputy Librarian of Congress, presented an award to each winner, who then made a few remarks. Watch the video to see the awards ceremony:

For 56kb Video                             For High Speed LAN Video

Information on the 2002 Award program and a call for nominations will be announced on July 15, 2002. For the latest information on the awards, interested parties may refer to the FLICC Awards Web site at

Library of Congress (Updated July 2002)
Comments: Library of Congress Help Desk