This exhibition was developed under the leadership of James H. Billington, Librarian of Congress.

Staff for the Exhibition

  • William Jacobs, Chief, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Betsy Nahum-Miller and Carroll Johnson-Welsh, Exhibition Directors, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Loras Schissel and Catherine Rivers, Curators, Music Division
  • Karen Werth, Production Officer, Interpretive Programs Office
  • Rachel Waldron, Registrar, Interpretive Programs Office

Interpretive Programs Office Staff

Denise Agee, Kimberli Curry, Seth de Matties, Vicki Fortuno, Martha Hopkins, Tambra Johnson Reap, David Jung, Susan Mordan-White, Christopher O’Connor, Cheryl Regan, Marc Roman, Patrick Shepler, and Cynthia Wayne

Special thanks are due to the following members of the Library of Congress staff for their assistance with this exhibition:

Roberta I. Shaffer, Library Services; Susan Vita, Raymond A. White, and Gail Freunsch, Music Division; Lisa Moberg, Conservation Division; Mary Wheeler, Printing Management Section; Stanley Bandong, Graphic Arts Services Unit; Jim Karamanis, Thip Padavong and Laura Moiseev, Web Services; Domenic Sergi, Andrew Cook, and Jade Curtis, ITS Digital Scan Center; Gayle Osterberg and Donna Urschel, Public Affairs Office

Exhibition and Brochure Design

Ed Malouf and Carol Lieb, Content Design Collaborative


Greg Blair, Dale Alward, and Ruth Burke, Blair Dubilier & Associates

Special thanks to ASCAP

Chairman and President Paul Williams, John LoFrumento, Lauren Iossa, Colleen McDonough, Adrian Ross, Karen Sherry, Janelle Travers, Howard Girao, Edan Dover, and Jim Steinblatt