Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2013-2014

NOVEMBER 15 at 7 PM - Rescheduled from October 17

Valentina Lisitsa

NIGHTCAP: Valentina Lisitsa talks with the Music Division's David Plylar following the performance.

Coolidge Auditorium

All tickets for 10/17/13 will be honored for this future date. Please hold on to your tickets.

"... alternately martial and erotic ... dynamic and dramatic suppleness of motion and liquid refinement." - Audiophile

Valentina Lisitsa's meteoric rise to prominence through her masterful use of digital media has been nothing short of sensational. Her recordings of the complete works of Rachmaninoff for piano and orchestra and her Live at the Royal Albert Hall are admired by critics and audiences alike. Her accomplishments are buttressed by a fiery artistry well-suited to the program of composer/pianists on this recital: a powerful assortment of works by Rachmaninoff, who is richly represented in the Library's collection, Prokofiev's seventh sonata, a group of  Chopin nocturnes, and Liszt's solo piano version of his influential and fiendishly difficult Totentanz, most often heard in the version for piano and orchestra.

Although this performance is SOLD OUT at Ticketmaster, a limited number of RUSH tickets will be available at the Library, at no cost, beginning 2 hours before each performance. Patrons are strongly encouraged to try for a RUSH ticket at the door, between 5:00 pm and concert time (7:00 pm for this concert). Due to no-shows and returned tickets, some seats are ALWAYS available for sold out performances at curtain. RUSH tickets are offered on a space-available basis. Seats are not guaranteed.


Six selections from Preludes, opp. 23 and 32
Moments musicaux op. 16, nos. 2 and 5


Piano Sonata no. 7 in B-flat major, op. 83


Selected Nocturnes


Totentanz, S. 52