Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2014-2015: Beyond Labels

OCTOBER 24 at 8 PM

Mavis Staples.
Pedja Muzijevic

Coolidge Auditorium

Get free tickets from TicketMaster
(tickets available 09/03/2014, beginning at 10 AM)

“...remarkable not simply for the quality of their music making but for the joy they take in the act of connection” —The New Yorker

The versatile and imaginative pianist Pedja Muzijevic, a longtime St. Lawrence collaborator, is the guest artist for the quartet’s first concert. He is noted for wide-ranging repertoire and intriguing projects, including a staged version of Schubert’s Winterreise with Simon Keenlyside, and tours with Mikhail Baryshnikov in Solos with Piano or Not. This evening features the rhapsodic Brahmsian piano quintet written in 1908 by American composer Amy Beach, whose works were premiered by such distinguished institutions as the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic, and the Handel and Haydn Society.


String Quartet in C minor, op. 18, no. 4


Quintet for piano and strings in F sharp minor, op. 67


String Quartet no. 3 in D major, op. 34

6:30 PM - Whittall Pavilion (no tickets required)