Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2014-2015: Beyond Labels

JANUARY 23 at 8 PM  Regional Premiere Event!

St. Lawrence String Quartet

Coolidge Auditorium

The final concert of the St. Lawrence String Quartet Project features a joint commission of a new work by John Adams. The performance will start… and stop… and start again with a favorite Haydn quartet that lives up to its nickname, “The Joke.” The concert closes with Dvořák’s eleventh string quartet, a significant work that looks ahead to its better-known “American” successor composed a dozen years later.
Photo credit: Marco Borggreve


String Quartet in E-flat major, op. 33/2, H.III: 38 (“The Joke”)


String Quartet no. 2   REGIONAL PREMIERE
Commissioned by Stanford Lively Arts, Carnegie Hall, the Dina Koston and Roger Shapiro Fund for New Music in the Library of Congress, The Juilliard School and Wigmore Hall


String Quartet in C major, op. 61

6:30 PM - Whittall Pavilion (no tickets required)
"Opus 90: Celebrating 90 years of Concerts from the Library of Congress," with Anne McLean, Music Division