Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2016-17

Our spectacular 2016-2017 season celebrates 91 years of historic concerts, extraordinary music, and legendary performers at the Nation’s Library. In our splendid concert hall, nestled in the stunning architectural environment of the Thomas Jefferson Building, you can encounter an impressive range of musical experiences, free of charge.

2016 EVENTS

Day Date Time Artist/Event (Location)
Wednesday September 7 12 pm FOLKLIFE CONCERT: Yvette Landry | Cajun Music and Louisiana Honky-Tonk (Coolidge Auditorium) - no tickets required
Wednesday    September 14 10 am GET TICKETS for 2016 Concerts and Events from Eventbrite
Beginning at 10 am, you can get tickets for any 2016 event that is part of Concerts from the Library of Congress.
Thursday September 22 12 pm FOLKLIFE CONCERT: Gabriel Muñoz and Melodias Borinqueñas | Puerto Rican Folk Music from New Jersey (Coolidge Auditorium) - no tickets required
Wednesday September 28 12 pm FOLKLIFE CONCERT:Artemio Posadas | Mexican music and dance from California, National Endowment for the Arts National Heritage Fellow, 2016 Bess Lomas Hawes award recipient (Coolidge Auditorium) - no tickets required
Monday October 17 8 pm CONCERT: Mark Padmore and Andrew West (Coolidge Auditorium)
[Pre-concert lecture: “Gentlemen Prefer the Taubenpost: Love and Longing in the Songs of Beethoven and Schubert,” David Plylar, PhD, Music Division]
Wednesday October 26 8 pm CONCERT: Kristian Bezuidenhout (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Thursday October 27 7 pm LECTURE: “In the Workshop of Lerner and Loewe: Archival Sources for the Genesis of My Fair Lady;” Dominic McHugh, University of Sheffield; American Musicological Society Lecture (Montpelier Room)
Saturday
October 29 8 pm CONCERT: Founder’s Day: Argento Chamber Ensemble (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Tuesday November 1 12 pm LECTURE: “Genre Division and Canonical Unity in the World of Heavy Metal Music,” James Wintle, Music Division (Whittall Pavilion)
Thursday November 3 7 pm LECTURE: “A John Coltrane Odyssey: Sight, Sound and Beyond,” Andrew White (Montpelier Room)
Friday November 4 7 pm FILM: Just a Gigolo, part of Pat Padua’s “Shooting Stars: Bowie and Prince on Film” (Pickford Theater) [R-rated] - No one under the age of 17 will be admitted without a parent or guardian.
Thursday November 10 7 pm FILM: Absolute Beginners, part of Pat Padua’s “Shooting Stars: Bowie and Prince on Film” (Pickford Theater)
Friday November 18 7 pm FILM: Graffiti Bridge, part of Pat Padua’s “Shooting Stars: Bowie and Prince on Film” (Pickford Theater)
Saturday November 19 2 pm CONCERT: Sandro Ivo Bartoli (Coolidge Auditorium)
[12:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Friday December 2 7 pm FILM: Sign ‘o’ the Times, part of Pat Padua’s “Shooting Stars: Bowie and Prince on Film” (Pickford Theater)
Tuesday December 6 8 pm CONCERT: The Tallis Scholars (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Friday December 9 8 pm CONCERT: Jason Robert Brown (Coolidge Auditorium)
Saturday December 17 8 pm CONCERT: Stradivari Anniversary: Cecilia String Quartet (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]

2017 EVENTS

Day Date Time Artist/Event (Location)
Wednesday  January 4 10 am GET TICKETS for 2017 Concerts and Events from Eventbrite
Beginning at 10 am, you can get tickets for any 2017 event that is part of Concerts from the Library of Congress.
Friday January 13 8 pm CONCERT: Richard Egarr (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Monday January 23 8 pm CONCERT: Pacifica Quartet with Jörg Widmann (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Wednesday January 25 8 pm CONCERT: Musicians from Marlboro: Michelle Ross, Carmit Zori, Rebecca Albers, Alice Yoo, Nicholas Phan and Lydia Brown (Coolidge Auditorium)
[Nightcap conversation with the artists following the concert]
Thursday January 26 7 pm AUTHOR TALK: “The Rhythmic Imagination in African Music;” Kofi Agawu, PhD, Professor of Music, Princeton University (Montpelier Room)
Friday February 3 7 pm FILM: Princess Mononoke, part of “Toon Tunes with Solomon HaileSelassie” (Pickford Theater)
Saturday February 4 8 pm CONCERT: Jordi Savall and Hespèrion XXI (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert lecture]
Friday February 10 7 pm FILM: Beauty and the Beast, part of “Toon Tunes with Solomon HaileSelassie” (Pickford Theater)
Saturday February 11 12 pm FILM: Family Friendly--Beauty and the Beast, part of “Toon Tunes with Solomon HaileSelassie” (Pickford Theater)
Tuesday February 14 12 pm LECTURE: “Rewriting Rachmaninoff: Transcriptions and Revisions in the Library’s Collections;” David Plylar, PhD, Music Division (Whittall Pavilion)
Friday February 17 7 pm FILM: The Nightmare Before Christmas, part of “Toon Tunes with Solomon HaileSelassie” (Pickford Theater)
Saturday February 18 12 pm FILM: Family Friendly--The Nightmare Before Christmas, part of “Toon Tunes with Solomon HaileSelassie” (Pickford Theater)
Saturday February 18 8 pm CONCERT: Either/Or (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Tuesday February 21 12 pm LECTURE: “The Aleksandrinskii Stage;” Walter Zvonchenko, Music Division (Whittall Pavilion)
Thursday February 23 7 pm LECTURE: “Harry T. Burleigh: From the Spiritual to the Harlem Renaissance;” Jean E. Snyder, author
Friday February 24 7 pm FILM: Batman: Mask of the Phantasm, part of “Toon Tunes with Solomon HaileSelassie” (Pickford Theater)
Saturday February 25 12 pm FILM: Family Friendly--Batman: Mask of the Phantasm, part of “Toon Tunes with Solomon HaileSelassie” (Pickford Theater)
Tuesday February 28 12 pm LECTURE: “Hindemith’s Musical Responses to WWI;” Nicholas Alexander Brown, Music Division (Whittall Pavilion)
Friday March 3 8 pm CONCERT: Hagen Quartet (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert lecture: “American Luthier: Carleen Hutchins--the Art & Science of the Violin,” Quincy Whitney, author]
Tuesday March 7 12 pm LECTURE: “Dayton C. Miller, an American Collector of Flutes,” Carol Lynn Ward-Bamford, Music Division, with Paul Runci, Music Division (Whittall Pavilion)
Tuesday March 21 8 pm PERFORMANCE: An Evening of Kyogen, Shigeyama Kyogen Troupe (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Wednesday March 22 8 pm CONCERT: Musicians from Marlboro: Alexi Kenney, Robin Scott, Shuangshuang Liu, Peter Stumpf, and Zoltán Fejérvári (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Friday March 24 8 pm CONCERT: Arditti Quartet with Eliot Fisk (Coolidge Auditorium) [6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Tuesday April 4 12 pm LECTURE: “World War I Sheet Music at the Library of Congress,” Paul Frauenfelter, Music Division (Whittall Pavilion)
Saturday April 8 8 pm CONCERT: Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival--Orion String Quartet with Tony Arnold, Brett Dean and Juho Pohjohnen (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Tuesday April 11 12 pm LECTURE: “Discovering Creative Collaborations: Choreographer Erick Hawkins and Composer Lucia Dlugoszewski;” Libby Smigel, PhD, Music Division and Kate Doyle, Case Western Reserve University (Whittall Pavilion)
Friday April 21 8 pm CONCERT: Steven Isserlis and Connie Shih (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert conversation]
Saturday April 22 11 am #DECLASSIFIED: “In Bach’s Hand: Notes and Accounts;” Anne McLean and Jan Lauridsen, Music Division (Whittall Pavilion)
Saturday April 22 8 pm CONCERT: Steve Coleman and Five Elements (Coolidge Auditorium)
[6:30pm, Whittall Pavilion - Pre-concert lecture: “Painting Jazz,” with John Szwed, Library of Congress Jazz Scholar]
Tuesday April 25 12 pm LECTURE: “Celebrating the 100th Birthday of Ella Fitzgerald;” Larry Appelbaum, Music Division (Whittall Pavilion)
Saturday April 29 11 am #DECLASSIFIED: “The Final Years of Pilgrimage: Sketches and Sources for Liszt’s Années de pèlerinage, Troisiéme Année;” David Plylar, Music Division (Coolidge Auditorium)
Tuesday May 9 12 pm LECTURE: “Sidney Robertson Cowell and the WPA California Folk Music Project, 1938-40,” Cathy Kerst, American Folklife Center (Whittall Pavilion)
Thursday May 18 8 pm LECTURE: “Johnnies, Tommies, and Sammies: Music and the WWI Alliance;” Christina Bashford, Associate Professor, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; William Brooks, Composer and Musicologist; Gayle Sherwood Magee, Associate Professor, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; Laurie Matheson, Vocalist; Justin Vickers, Assistant Professor, Illinois State University (Whittall Pavilion)
Saturday May 20 8 pm CONCERT: Ambrose Akinmusire Quartet (Coolidge Auditorium)