Concerts from the Library of Congress, 2013-2014

Check out some new ventures that enliven the concert experience: A new mini-series tracks technology at the edge of science and sound, with guides like Stanford University faculty Mark Applebaum and Ge Wang. Our newly-expanded Counterpoints series highlights the riches of the Library’s collections—lectures and conversations, interviews and panels, and noontime talks by scholars and Music Division curators; Nightcap post-concert chats; and #Declassified, an intriguing series of close encounters with artifacts and ideas, offered in small-format Saturday morning sessions in our studio.

Schedule of Lectures, Interviews, Conversations, Workshops, Master Classes and Concerts

HIGH NOON Lectures - various dates from September 24 - April 22

Day Date Time Artist/Event (select the links to learn more about each program)
Monday
September 16 7pm BOOK EVENT: Graham Nash's WILD TALES: A Rock and Roll Life
Tuesday October 23 12pm LECTURE-RECITAL: Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco and the Poetry of Walt Whitman
Saturday October 26 2pm MUSIC and TECHNOLOGY: Mark Applebaum and Ge Wang
Tuesday October 29 12pm BOOK TALK: Leonard Bernstein's Life in Letters, with Nigel Simeone
Thursday November 7 12pm INTERVIEW: Letters from Nicolas Slonimsky, with Electra Slonimsky Yourke
Friday November 8 9pm LIBRARY LATE: Albert Camus Lit L’Étranger/REMIX
Thursday November 14 12pm ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSION: March on Washington, Protest Songs of the 1960s
Saturday November 16 11am LECTURE: #Declassified - Finishing Schubert with Sinister Chopin
Saturday December 14 11am LECTURE: #Declassified - Conductors Beyond the Podium (rescheduled from Oct. 19)
Monday January 27 12pm A Celebration of Max Roach, with Larry Appelbaum and the family of Max Roach
Friday February 28 8pm LIBRARY LATE: Lansiné Kouyaté and David Neerman CANCELLED - can not be rescheduled
Saturday May 10 2pm PANEL/VIDEO SCREENING: Blue Note Records 75th Anniversary
Thursday July 3 2pm CONCERT: Thomas Hampson: The 200th Birthday of the Star-Spangled Banner